Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
643 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well guys it is that time of the year again, I live in North Texas and we just had our first Freeze last night. This is my first year with my PSD and I am wondering when it is a good time to plug it in @ what temperature Plus I am wondering about warming it up how long to let it idle etc.

·
Registered
1,229 Posts
first off,what year truck?any mods?you should fill out your sig so we can better help you.i live in florida so i wont be much help,some one will though,goodluck

·
Premium Member
643 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No mods except for a grill I dont know what it is called like a sports grill , built in CB radio , BF good wrench all terrain tires 2001 7.3 Liter super duty Lariat I bought it when the market hit the fan and loving it

·
Super Moderator
31,744 Posts
I plug mine in when it hits 20 degrees normally. Its on a timer to come on 3 hours before i go to work

·
Super Moderator
31,744 Posts
Wont hurt a thing but your electric bill

·
Don't mind me
27,563 Posts
Like Dave I don't plug mine in until it hits about 20 or below. That being said if it is below about 45 I will let it idle for about 10 minutes before the first trip of the day.

·
Registered
4,241 Posts
i plug in when it gets below 30. they dont draw much. when i get off work i plug it in when i get home and let it go till the mornin. i gotta get one for this truck lol

·
scuffs *****
5,270 Posts
I have yet to plug mine in, hit 26 degrees last week but been oddly warm latley. I got a new high speed starter that will wind the s*** outta the motor is has to start! But once it stays around 20 or colder I will plug it in. If its plugged in, let it idle for like 10 mins because it will be warm will you start it. If its unplugged and its cold out let it idle for like 20 or it will run like s***.

·
Registered
180 Posts