Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. i am new to the forum and i just bought me a 1993 ford f250 7.3 idi diesel truck and i was going to get a banks sidewinder kit and i hypermax intercooler for it. but i was thinking putting a ATS 2000 turbo on it which one is better and got more power i can get out of it? i am new with the idi diesel so please tell me what all i can do to get the max power i can get out of the truck. thanks for your time

·
Registered
2,489 Posts
I dont like the Banks kit, as they use a Mitshubishi turbo that is really really hard to get parts for. I guess the exact turbo nobody else uses in the US.

The ATS kit is nice as its basically a Garrett turbo with a different intake housing on it. I would probably steer you that way.

With a good turbo, intercooler, injection system up to snuff (proper timing, fairly new), and pump maxed out you should have about 190-200 hp and pushing 400ft lbs at the wheels.

·
Registered
458 Posts
i would think a little bit more after you get the turbo in take the injection pump to a shop near by have it rebuilt and tell them to set it 15% over spec youll run a little quicker and youll have plenty of fuel to run the turbo to its full potential

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ok thanks for telling me.does the ATS Turbo has all the hardware in the kit to set it up? and I looked up ATS website and they said gains up to 50% power to the rear wheels. i already have 185 hp and 360 lbs of trq. and i like to get the hypermax pulse intercooler kit and a exhaust sysytem. i would thought i would have more hp and more trq than that?

·
Registered
402 Posts