Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 141 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have started using a 50/50 blend of waste motor oil and diesel fuel in my 95 powerstroke. Filtered through a 10 micron primary filter and then a 2 micron filter before pumping into the tank. I only have about 300 miles use so far, but have noticed no difference in performance. It does smoke a little more though. Does anyone here have any experience using blended fuels? Is there a way to remove the carbon from the used oil easily? I am new to this sight but not new to diesels. Comments/Questions?

·
Registered
3,196 Posts
:ORG welcome:
I can't help you with the used oil though, Just don't think it is a good idea. :(But here is a bump for ya.

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
I wouldnt run used motor oil even if it was filtered. 50/50 seems to be a pretty stiff ****tail of it too??

·
Registered
387 Posts
I have a buddy that has been running 100% filtered waste oil for over a year. He mixes in jet fuel to get the viscosity correct as well as some tranny fluid. Apparently the viscosity is extremely important..

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
I should clarify what I meant/said.. I myself wouldnt run it, thats just me though.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
Hmm... I thought about viscosity, but I have heard of others running as much as a 60/40 split without a problem. But then again a gambler usually only tells you of their winnings not there losses. I would be interested in any info you could forward to me. BTW viscosity should drop when running at NOT.

·
<-Day Of Fail now SOLD
3,393 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,298 Posts
i am no pro. but i would think the injectors wouldn't care for it much. and 50/50? seems like thats a pretty hefty dose of used oil.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I've started using a 2 stroke ashless synthetic oil in both of my diesels. It seems to be quieter and the mileage has improved.

·
Registered
1,726 Posts