Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just installed a plantdrive system on my 97 PSD, heated front tank for veggie, rear for dino/bio diesel. i'm using the stock two stage mechanical lift pump, no electric boost pump or anything. looking for feedback from others that run a vacuum gage between their heated veg filter and the lift pump. what kind of vacuum readings are typical? i'm running between 5-8 inches of vacuum with a new filter and good clean oil. i was wondering how much vacuum people are running at before changing a filter.

no noob here, ive been running my 83 benz 240D on veg oil for over 2 years, and this truck was running bio-d for the last 18 months, so i have enough knowledge to be dangerous. i'm just looking for some tribal knowledge from the powerstroke gurus.

thanks

·
Premium Member
17,255 Posts
i can't answer your question, i have a different setup, no vacuum on my filter.

·
Registered
424 Posts
I have a '97 PSD with the PlantDrive kit installed two years ago. On my Vormax is a vacuum gauge. It's color coded green-yellow-red on the dial with no corresponding numbers. After a vegoil filter change and for the next few thousand miles the vacuum gauge is at the bottom of the green meaning <1" of vacuum. At about 7" of vacuum noticeable power loss will be felt at the go pedal so that when it's time to change filters. On my rear tank Racor filter head I installed another vacuum gauge. This one with numbers. At most I see 2" running B99 cold and when it's warmer out and the B99 is warmer it's <1".

If you're seeing 5-8" of vacuum with a new filter and clean oil there must be a kink in your fuel line. You say clean oil. Does that mean dry enough to pass a hot pan test? Wet oil will cause filter restriction (high vacuum readings) faster than sediment laden dry oil will. The filter media swells faster than it fills up with sediment.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·