Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in Vermont and i’m new to owning a diesel. I own a 2003 Ford power stroke 7.3. I plug in my block heater but my truck still has a ton of trouble starting in the morning even if it sits for the day after starting that morning. I always end up running my batteries low and seem to have to jump start it but it still takes a ton of cycles of the glow plugs for it to even pop off. I noticed unplugging my tuner while starting it helped a little bit. I know I have to get some new batteries anyways and know that the truck has to have at least 11.6 voltage or in that area for the injectors to open. Is there anything else I can do to make my truck start easier?

·
Registered
31 Posts
I'd start with your block heater element. You can test it with an ohm meter but mine tested fine and was still tripping the GFCI outlet on my house. If you're not handy with a multimeter I'd just pull the element out plug it in and see if it gets hot.

The truck should start without the block heater plugged in so obviously there are other issues, but the block heater working may get you up and running for now.

After the block heater I'd check the most common issues:
  • ohm out the glow plugs to make sure they are good
  • load test batteries
  • check voltage across glow plug relay to make sure it's working correctly
Let us know what you find out.

·
Premium Member
9,090 Posts
^^^ All good advice...

I would just add that there is no "glow plug cycling". For the best Cold Start results (say under 35F) here's what I would follow;

Forget the WTS light, it's not in any way connected to the GP system.

Over 20F, wait a Full min, with the key On, before you crank.

Under 20F, plug the block heater in for 3hrs (get a timer so it comes on before you leave in the morning) and wait 1-1/2 to 2 mins, key On, before you crank.