Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
344 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So sometimes using search does more harm then good. I'm still new to the 6.0 world and the 5speed automatic. I need to do a fluid change but I'm trying to figure out what to use. In searching I have found Mercron SP and LV but there are a ton of posts out there about LV destroying the trans. Some say Valvoline Max Life others say the trans will fall out as soon as you pour that stuff in :doh: So I'm looking for some good up to date information about what I should use. Aside from the ever Awesome Amsoil which is just not in the budget at this point.

Right now the only thing I'm sure of is that I want to change to the 08 pan and filter. I think that part number for the pan is 8C3Z-7A194-B otherwise I have no idea what fluid to buy or how much to give me a good change. Also do you guys use the same fluid in the T-Case as well? I like to change those together.

Sorry for stirring up what is sure to be a hornets nest but searching confused me more then anything else. There is such a thing as too much information.

·
Premium Member
3,538 Posts
I posted some info from the manufactures data sheet on the various oils, a while back but that thread kinda died -- Interested in the outcome of this one

·
Premium Member
2,189 Posts
A couple years ago, I ended up with Mercon SP in the trans and XL-12 in the transfer case. I'm sure it's changed by now.

Calling @voodooridr & @fordsvtparts for specs & part numbers.

-jokester

·
Registered
697 Posts
Oil debates never end well.......IMO run something name brand thats been around for a while. Call your local ford dealer. Whatever they recommend just put it.