Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy!

I'm new to the Power Stroke forum and a new owner of a 2004 F-250 with the 6.0 diesel engine. This is the first diesel I have ever owned, but I've been reading a lot of posts on this forum and have familiarized myself with this engine enough that I'm ready to ask what I believe will be an intelligent question.

What do you think is causing my low oil pressure problem?

History:
My truck ran fine when I bought it, but a couple of weeks later I was driving at 80 mph when I experienced a sudden loss of power. The engine still seemed to run fine at lower RPM's (below 2000), so I was able to drive it home (no faster then 65 mph). When I came to a stop and at idle (about 650 RPM), the oil pressure gauge went down to zero, but back up to "normal" with a small increase in RPM. Also, it takes a long time to start (about 30 seconds of cranking) with no oil pressure indicated while cranking. But the truck always starts eventually and runs fine at RPM's below 2000. I can drive it around town just fine, as long as I don't press the throttle down too far.

When the engine oil is cold, I get a "normal" oil pressure indication on the instrument panel at idle. Once the oil warms up a bit, the gauge will drop to zero. (I realize that a "normal" indication only tells me that the pressure is at least 7 psi.)

Using Torque Pro I have observed the following:

High Pressure Oil System:
  • No significant pressure during cranking until just before it starts, then it looks normal.
  • At around 2000 to 2500 RPM: - ICP drops dramatically, accompanied by a significant loss of power, - Injectors become pretty quiet. - IPR jumps to 83.9, - Boost cuts out completely.
  • When I let off the throttle to get the RPM below 2000: - Power returns, - ICP and IPR indications return to normal, - Injectors sound normal again.
  • Other indications: All seem normal to me.