Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2006 F350 6.0 CCSB
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a certified mechanic, just did a egr delete and HG/studs on a 2004 king ranch with low original KM for a customer.
After finishing the job it started up great and idled perfect for a hour, when suddenly the RPMs dropped and it developed a hard miss, threw a cylinder 5 contribution code, however it ended up getting worse and while it never died, it wouldn't restart.
I did an injector buzz test and was only getting 3 out of 8 injectors clicking (2,3 and 8 I believe) this led me to believe a ficm issue, however buzz test gave me no codes and ficm voltages were good. I split the ficm case and found a piece that you could see got very hot and cracked, with a clear burnt smell. I figured great! I found the issue! So I replaced the FICM.
Sadly that is not the end of it. Still only have 3 injectors clicking. So on the passenger side I disconnected all the injectors and one by one I plugged in each injector connector into the one good injector on that side and performed a buzz test each time. Confirmed that every connector fired the good injector in its appropriate order.

So it appears I do indeed have 5 failed injectors out of nowhere. So I'm not sure if the failed injectors took out the ficm or vice versa. But how the hell does this happen? It makes absolutely no sense to me.

Any professional input appreciated.
Thanks, TTiffin

Here is a picture of the fried ficm, you can see the broken and burnt component on the middle left.

·
Registered
1,715 Posts
I'm not a professional, but are you sure you're getting the 3 plugs on the bottom of the ficm snapped in tight? There's also the chance that the oil rail seals are leaking. I had a harness that let the pins at the injector connector back out when plugging them in, chack that also. There's better mechanics on here than I am, but those 3 are big ones.

Sent from my Redmi Note 9 Pro using Tapatalk

·