Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All...
Im new to the diesel thing, but have been building turbo gasoline cars since the early 90's.

I just got a 97 last week. Already got a turbo back on it last night :D
But I got some questions:

First, where is the temp gauge supposed to sit normally? Mine BARELY gets into the normal range, and that even takes a while. I'm wondering if someone took the thermostat out. When I go to leave in the morning, the first 4 or 5 miles the truck runs weak because i guess the EBPV is staying closed to warm up the truck, but while its doing this its blowing smoke like a freight train. Once it gets past that it seems to run ok, but I'm in the low teens on milage as well.

What does the following stand for:
OBP
HPOP

Thanks!

·
Other vehicle is an F250
18,320 Posts

·
Registered
2000 F350 Diesel Crew Cab, Long Bed, 4wd
1,425 Posts
HPOP is "High Pressure Oil Pump"

Not sure on the other.

Welcome to the Forum!!!

·
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
5,877 Posts
:welcome1: Welcome to the ORG.!

Did you mean OBS? Old body style.

The low temp is common. Mine sits between the N and O. I have replaced the thermostat and nothing changed, so I just let it ride.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hmmm.. What temp stats go in these things?

It just sucks because it seems to take forever to get the thing up to speed when its cold. I dont have time to let it sit and idle in the driveway for 15 minutes before I leave the house.

I forgot to mention that I am in central Florida.... So "cold starts" are occuring in the 70's-high 80's for ambient temp.

Thanks for the responses so far guys!

·
Registered
92 Posts
Welcome to the fourm. A diesel motor needs to be warmed up all the way to run to its fullest capablity. A reson why its kinda slow getting to speed, but man do they run liked a raped ape once they are warmed up. "Coldstarts in the 70's" WOW

·
Registered
553 Posts