Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please pardon my ignorance - I'm no mechanic but I'm learning as I go and can't afford to take my truck to the dealer.

Background: 2003 6.0, EGR Delete, ARP Studs and new oil cooler about 3 yrs ago, Banks 6-gun, replaced all 8 injectors about 2 yrs ago, pulled and cleaned turbo about a year ago, only about 130k miles on the truck. I've also got a Vegistroke installed which means I've got a completely separate fuel system apart from the diesel.

Pulling an empty car hauler I noticed the truck start to smoke pretty badly - no loss of power, no other symptoms. I was running veggie oil and thought it must have something to do with that so I switched over to diesel. The only thing that happened was it smoked worse. I also dialed the Banks down to nothing - still no change. Smoked all the way home.

It was time for an oil change and a friend recommended I try Rev-X, thinking it could be a stiction issue. I changed oil the next day, then started it up. It started fine (didn't notice any smoke initially). I went to road test it and found it had almost no power whatsoever. I barely made it around the block, having to keep one foot on the go pedal to keep it from dying. It finally did die before I could back it into my driveway - BARELY ran and the little it did was like complete crap.

Started it the next day and ran fine, still little to no power, however. I was able to back it into the driveway and let it idle up to temp, then it immediately started choking and died - a typical "Dies when hot" issue. Thinking it was a High Pressure Oil issue (didn't have a scanner), I thought I'd try the least expensive options to see if I could get lucky - I relplaced the ICP sensor and the IPR valve. Huge PITA.