Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

21 - 40 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
114 Posts
I bought my GTX for my 2015 F350 in April, I kept getting a reoccurring check engine light, all within 2 weeks of install, contacted SCT, got a story about my computer and plugging it into the device, used a different PC and then they said I had to send it back for them to download review and return. Well I got it back and it was a brand new GTX, hooked it all back up, and there was no tunes to be able to load. Contacted them they had me try to load a stock tune that they sent, it did load, but still no other tunes, so they had me give them all sorts of number from the device, and they were going to talk to engineering. Well after another month going by they tell me it’s on there “to do list”. Contacted them again and they said there having issues with the software and they need to rewrite it. Well it August and they told me today that they really don’t have an answer as to when it’s gonna be done, asked to talk to a supervisor, and of course they were all in meetings and would call me back. So 4 months with an expensive monitor and still no answers! Anyone else having any issues like this with there SCT GTX on a 2015 6.7L F350 ?
Most likely you like the new design of the GTX, I had the same issue as you. I requested an exchange for the live wire +, same amount of money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #22
My end goal was to get custom tuning in the future, but have the tow and street tunes to play around with along with the transmission tuning. I never really mash on the throttle so I’m not as worried about breaking anything. Mainly at this point I’m just disappointed that a $600 tuner is now just a monitor. But thank you everyone for the input, I found my local shop prefers EZlink for tuning anyways so I may just get an edge monitor and run switch on the fly tuning at this point.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
187 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
Brand new SCT GTX and having problems

I paid $600 for the tuner to replace my much smaller and hard to read H&S Mini. Have a 2010 F-450 w/ 6.4 Powerstroke. Daily-driver...I don't haul anything...just like F450s. I don't run any tunes - simply wanted to monitor all the critical stuff.
Set it all up and was rather quite impressed with the sharpness of the display. Gauges look great and you can monitor quite a bit. Drove truck for several days in a row and really glad I made the switch.
Then I let the truck sit for 2-3 days. Takes a lot of effort to keep a black F450 clean so...since the weather was rainy...I drove my beater.
The next time I got in the truck, the GTX wouldn't power up. Tried a bunch of screen taps, key cycles, ...nothing! Momentarily disconnected from the wiring and then it came back on. Butttttt...now all my gauge settings went back to their defaults. Thought it might be a fluke so reset them all again. Worked fine for next few days, but again after I left truck sit unused for a couple days...same thing...had to unplug to reset and again all my gauge settings GONE.

I contacted SCT help desk via chat and was told "Yes, it is a bug...we're working on it."

Can't know for certain but I would imagine they knew about the "bug" back in November when I ordered the thing but they shipped it out anyway.

I also notice that the Engine Oil Temp and Engine Coolant Temp, the two most critical things I want to monitor right now, have a 10 degrees F differential. EOT is the higher of the two. That might be normal once the truck is warmed up, but this is at complete ambient...when the truck has been OFF for a 24 hour period. I checked it several time and each time the EOT temps starts out 10 degrees higher than coolant temp. Might be the sending unit but now that I know they have other bugs....who can tell?

Should've just stuck with the H&S, I'm now thinking.

Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
I paid $600 for the tuner to replace my much smaller and hard to read H&S Mini. Have a 2010 F-450 w/ 6.4 Powerstroke. Daily-driver...I don't haul anything...just like F450s. I don't run any tunes - simply wanted to monitor all the critical stuff.

Set it all up and was rather quite impressed with the sharpness of the display. Gauges look great and you can monitor quite a bit. Drove truck for several days in a row and really glad I made the switch.

Then I let the truck sit for 2-3 days. Takes a lot of effort to keep a black F450 clean so...since the weather was rainy...I drove my beater.

The next time I got in the truck, the GTX wouldn't power up. Tried a bunch of screen taps, key cycles, ...nothing! Momentarily disconnected from the wiring and then it came back on. Butttttt...now all my gauge settings went back to their defaults. Thought it might be a fluke so reset them all again. Worked fine for next few days, but again after I left truck sit unused for a couple days...same thing...had to unplug to reset and again all my gauge settings GONE.



I contacted SCT help desk via chat and was told "Yes, it is a bug...we're working on it."



Can't know for certain but I would imagine they knew about the "bug" back in November when I ordered the thing but they shipped it out anyway.



I also notice that the Engine Oil Temp and Engine Coolant Temp, the two most critical things I want to monitor right now, have a 10 degrees F differential. EOT is the higher of the two. That might be normal once the truck is warmed up, but this is at complete ambient...when the truck has been OFF for a 24 hour period. I checked it several time and each time the EOT temps starts out 10 degrees higher than coolant temp. Might be the sending unit but now that I know they have other bugs....who can tell?



Should've just stuck with the H&S, I'm now thinking.



Jim


They continue to sell these with the same problems. They put you on hold to check like it’s a big surprise and come back and say engineering knows about these issues and is working on a solution, it’s been 8 months without a solution for me and I’ve been using a mini max instead. Also once you update it you loose your stored screens every time.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
29 Posts
I paid $600 for the tuner to replace my much smaller and hard to read H&S Mini. Have a 2010 F-450 w/ 6.4 Powerstroke. Daily-driver...I don't haul anything...just like F450s. I don't run any tunes - simply wanted to monitor all the critical stuff.
Set it all up and was rather quite impressed with the sharpness of the display. Gauges look great and you can monitor quite a bit. Drove truck for several days in a row and really glad I made the switch.
Then I let the truck sit for 2-3 days. Takes a lot of effort to keep a black F450 clean so...since the weather was rainy...I drove my beater.
The next time I got in the truck, the GTX wouldn't power up. Tried a bunch of screen taps, key cycles, ...nothing! Momentarily disconnected from the wiring and then it came back on. Butttttt...now all my gauge settings went back to their defaults. Thought it might be a fluke so reset them all again. Worked fine for next few days, but again after I left truck sit unused for a couple days...same thing...had to unplug to reset and again all my gauge settings GONE.

I contacted SCT help desk via chat and was told "Yes, it is a bug...we're working on it."

Can't know for certain but I would imagine they knew about the "bug" back in November when I ordered the thing but they shipped it out anyway.

I also notice that the Engine Oil Temp and Engine Coolant Temp, the two most critical things I want to monitor right now, have a 10 degrees F differential. EOT is the higher of the two. That might be normal once the truck is warmed up, but this is at complete ambient...when the truck has been OFF for a 24 hour period. I checked it several time and each time the EOT temps starts out 10 degrees higher than coolant temp. Might be the sending unit but now that I know they have other bugs....who can tell?

Should've just stuck with the H&S, I'm now thinking.

Jim
I have to say I was disappointed at 1st, but once they finally got the software fixed it was good. I have to say I do think they probably rushed the product to marked and there were software issues. I have to admit now there was an update again and I was pleasantly surprised all the different monitors I had and how accurate everything was. I would like to call and ask them about how the EGT monitors the temp, as the stock EGT sensors(4 of them) read different, and how when it clean exhaust filter the SCT EGT probe doesn’t not read. I think the EGR in nominal open and when it cleans filter it closes to reach the 1k temps it’s looking to achieve on all of the sensors, because once it does the temps drop and the SCT EGT sensor starts reading again. Overall it was a bit of a rough road but not pleasantly happy with the tunes also.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #27
I paid $600 for the tuner to replace my much smaller and hard to read H&S Mini. Have a 2010 F-450 w/ 6.4 Powerstroke. Daily-driver...I don't haul anything...just like F450s. I don't run any tunes - simply wanted to monitor all the critical stuff.
Set it all up and was rather quite impressed with the sharpness of the display. Gauges look great and you can monitor quite a bit. Drove truck for several days in a row and really glad I made the switch.
Then I let the truck sit for 2-3 days. Takes a lot of effort to keep a black F450 clean so...since the weather was rainy...I drove my beater.
The next time I got in the truck, the GTX wouldn't power up. Tried a bunch of screen taps, key cycles, ...nothing! Momentarily disconnected from the wiring and then it came back on. Butttttt...now all my gauge settings went back to their defaults. Thought it might be a fluke so reset them all again. Worked fine for next few days, but again after I left truck sit unused for a couple days...same thing...had to unplug to reset and again all my gauge settings GONE.

I contacted SCT help desk via chat and was told "Yes, it is a bug...we're working on it."

Can't know for certain but I would imagine they knew about the "bug" back in November when I ordered the thing but they shipped it out anyway.

I also notice that the Engine Oil Temp and Engine Coolant Temp, the two most critical things I want to monitor right now, have a 10 degrees F differential. EOT is the higher of the two. That might be normal once the truck is warmed up, but this is at complete ambient...when the truck has been OFF for a 24 hour period. I checked it several time and each time the EOT temps starts out 10 degrees higher than coolant temp. Might be the sending unit but now that I know they have other bugs....who can tell?

Should've just stuck with the H&S, I'm now thinking.

Jim
I have to say I was disappointed at 1st, but once they finally got the software fixed it was good. I have to say I do think they probably rushed the product to marked and there were software issues. I have to admit now there was an update again and I was pleasantly surprised all the different monitors I had and how accurate everything was. I would like to call and ask them about how the EGT monitors the temp, as the stock EGT sensors(4 of them) read different, and how when it clean exhaust filter the SCT EGT probe doesn’t not read. I think the EGR in nominal open and when it cleans filter it closes to reach the 1k temps it’s looking to achieve on all of the sensors, because once it does the temps drop and the SCT EGT sensor starts reading again. Overall it was a bit of a rough road but not pleasantly happy with the tunes also.
As of now I’m onto yet another GTX, the latest one crashed and tripped a bunch of codes on my truck, dash lights stay on, and the heat / A/C to stop working. Unplug and clear codes, all is well. Plug GTX in and it all comes right back. Verified as the issue by my local ford dealer too. Also my second GTX incapable of retaining canned tunes. So far I’m not impressed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,809 Posts
Sounds like you guys are getting the EPA bastardized ones now. I haven't updated mine in 5 months, and don't plan on it. And if you leave it unplugged for a good amount of time it essentially resets. Happened to me when I first got it and couldn't figure it out, tried it unplugged for a long time, then about 20 minutes and everything was saved as for gauges data.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #29
Sounds like you guys are getting the EPA bastardized ones now. I haven't updated mine in 5 months, and don't plan on it. And if you leave it unplugged for a good amount of time it essentially resets. Happened to me when I first got it and couldn't figure it out, tried it unplugged for a long time, then about 20 minutes and everything was saved as for gauges data.
It’s been a crap product since before any possible EPA involvement, they should really try and release a working product the first time and knock off the Microsoft style user debugging
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,809 Posts
That's your opinion on it. I have no complaints about mine. It sounds like it could also be a little on your end as well....you're on your 2nd device with the EXACT same problem? That I find unlikely.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #31
That's your opinion on it. I have no complaints about mine. It sounds like it could also be a little on your end as well....you're on your 2nd device with the EXACT same problem? That I find unlikely.
It’s not the exact same problem, the first one worked fine minus being able to store tunes, second one tripped BCM codes and caused issues, they were able to upload the tunes in it but it was unable to load them without stating defective files. Being returned for a third under warranty soon.
Other people I’ve talked to also said they were never able to load canned tunes but they could load custom tunes. And a few people seem to have zero issues what so ever, SCT states that they’re still debugging them and there might be bad batches out there. Either way hopefully the next is wonderful and I can say how much I love them. They make a good monitor and I really like the new updated screens so it’s bit all bad I’m just frustrated with it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,809 Posts
That's very random how there seems to be a bad batch out there then, too bad they can't identify the bad serial numbers of them and see where they went to pull them back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #33
That's very random how there seems to be a bad batch out there then, too bad they can't identify the bad serial numbers of them and see where they went to pull them back.
I sure hope that’s all it is. The whole tunes thing appears to be a not so uncommon issue though if you follow any of the 6.7 Facebook groups. But most people intend on running custom tunes anyways so it’s really not that big of a deal
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,809 Posts
Personally I wouldn't run the canned tunes anyways, you're better sticking on the stock file, or getting a DPF on tune.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
That's your opinion on it. I have no complaints about mine. It sounds like it could also be a little on your end as well....you're on your 2nd device with the EXACT same problem? That I find unlikely.


Mine is in a 6.4 or was I should say, I have yet to find anyone using a GTX in a 6.4 with good results. Ect doesn’t read, only oil temp which is off according to mini max unit, no ability to read egt’s at all with a custom tune, have to purchase a pyro, ebp way off and overall a pos. I went looking for one of these cause I seen a slick sales pitch and fell for it. Could’ve sent it back but I had faith in sct to get them right, the screen is real nice you know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #36
Personally I wouldn't run the canned tunes anyways, you're better sticking on the stock file, or getting a DPF on tune.
That’s my hope once this gets figured out, I mostly just wanted to try the canned tune when I had long daily commutes. I’ll have to get a good DPF tune for daily driving soon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Not to hi-jack but why wouldn't you use canned tunes? My understanding was they were "safe"? For reference I have SCT Livewire but haven't used it for anything other than a monitor. I was looking at doing it because I have a No Limit intake that is reason I am asking. ~thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #38
Not to hi-jack but why wouldn't you use canned tunes? My understanding was they were "safe"? For reference I have SCT Livewire but haven't used it for anything other than a monitor. I was looking at doing it because I have a No Limit intake that is reason I am asking. ~thanks
Honestly they’re not that great, and from my understanding they’re not the greatest for the DPF system either, If you want tunes definitely go custom. The only reason I had interest in running them is because I don’t have long before my warranty expires and I delete so I’ve been trying to avoid double buying tunes, which I inevitably will have to do anyways. But I would just get some good tunes and call it a day if you’re happy with your setup, tyrant is good with 6.7’s among plenty of other options aswell
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,809 Posts
They're generally aggressive for a stock truck, not even for just a diesel, even their gas tunes for cars are not good either.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Mine came loaded with my tunes on the cloud so all I had to do was connect to WiFi and they downloaded to my tuner. Haven't had any complaints with the GTX.

did the tunes it had preloaded with it work the truck having no emissions?? My truck is completely deleted and was going to order one but i am unsure if it till work with my truck!! Thanksman for any feedback
 
21 - 40 of 43 Posts
Top