Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kind of new to power stroke. Been an experience so far. Lol. I have a od problem I can not figure out. When I first start my truck, it runs rough. It like it's running out of time. But if I let it run for a minutes, shut it off, the start it back up, its smooth and like a new truck. I notice it bucks some times and shutters at about half throttle when I'm cruising along. I just replaced the ficm power supply to fix it and it runs better but still have the first rough start. It's also a long crank and it sounds like its is about to turn a couple times before it actually does. Any ideas?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Sounds like a HPOP issue at cold start ( long crank ). Not enough oil pressure to fire the injectors. Possible you have an Internal leak ?

·
Registered
3,562 Posts
I recommend reading this:
Would be good to get a monitor and post things like ICP, IPE, FICM voltage on KOEO, starting, and KOER. Another thing you can read if your monitor watches for it ICP demand and compare it to what the IC is. Should be close.

Rough start could be stiction, which the symptoms can be hidden with something like RevX or Archoil. There's other things, more expensive it could be, and those additives I mentioned are not cheap either, so best to troubleshoot to prevent throwing parts at it. Lesson I learned the hard way.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4