Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is a little back ground on my situation first. I just sold my 09 and had every intention in buying a 2012. After reading more more about the lack of power tuned I changed my mind for now. My buddy was in a bind financially and sold me his 08 for real cheap. It has 56,000 miles and is bone stock. Has been stock all its life. I have no experience with a stock 6.4 as mine have always been tuned the day after purchasing them. So I am not sure what is normal as far as engine sounds go in stock form. Here is the deal. At idle there seems to be a different sound on the passenger side of the engine. I would call it a very light thumping. It almost sounds like a deep exhaust tone from a gasser. You wouldn't be able to hear with the hood down unless you knew what to listen for. It is noticeable to me with the hood up and changes tones when I open and close the air filter lids. I have searched about the noise and it usually points to a rocker arm. I listened to a few sound clips online of trucks with the issue. The sound clips online were very noticeable in the video even with the hood down. I took a video of mine to compare. Mine sounds almost normal on video. Is this a cause for concern?

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I will probably do that but I am just ready to tune this thing but don't want to have to strip everything off if I have to go to the dealer

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I did check it for codes and nothing. I am sure if it would throw a code though for a broken or damaged arm

·
Premium Member
3,940 Posts
If its a bad rocker, bent push rod or a bad lifter I personally would get it checked out ASAP as you are taking a chance of a valve contacting a piston and that will turn this good deal on a truck into a very lousy one.

·
Registered
875 Posts
Discussion Starter #8