Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the process of replacing my shocks and leaf spring bushings. It looks like my brake line is not long enough to get the spring dropped far enough down to get the bushing out. Am I going to have to disconnect the brake line or am I missing something? This is my first time replacing spring bushings on my Excursion and was hoping someone might have a better way...any ideas?

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
3,737 Posts
I would put the short port-a-power ram in there and push the spring end down enough to get the press in there and push that bushing out -- be sure to block the spring in case the ram slips out

Reactions: letsmow10

·
Premium Member
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would put the short port-a-power ram in there and push the spring end down enough to get the press in there and push that bushing out -- be sure to block the spring in case the ram slips out
That just might be the trick. I will give that a try. Thanks for the idea.

·
Premium Member
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Why not just take the calipers off?
It's not only the appropriate way, but the safest way for you and the truck.
Honestly, no good reason why. I might do that and use hydro's suggestion to aid in keeping the spring down and secured.

·
Premium Member
609 Posts
Discussion Starter #6