Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still fairly new to these trucks, not new to modifying cars or aftermarket parts.

I just installed Recon clear mirror lenses on my 06 F350. They looked basically identical to the factory parts on the bench, but once installed it's clear they fit like garbage. I had searched and read of some issues beforehand, but I really didn't expect to see much more than the typical "aftermarket is similar but not exact" situation -- I'm a little disappointed. They look good from a few feet away and work well, but the fitment quality just isn't there.

Is this just to be expected with these lights? I'm assuming I didn't incorrectly install them -- is there a fix, or is it not worth the trouble? I can't find anyone else who makes these so I'm assuming it's these or nothing.

Adam

2,850 Posts
Ive also heard they don't fit right and thats the reason Im not getting them. You can try to put a bead of silicone around them to help hold them on. That should also help stop the whistle that you will most likely hear while driving.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ive also heard they don't fit right and thats the reason Im not getting them. You can try to put a bead of silicone around them to help hold them on. That should also help stop the whistle that you will most likely hear while driving.
I don't hear any whisteling fortunately. I spent a little time looking them over and it seems that the problem is with one of the "butterfly" clamps on the back, they seem to be positioned incorrectly. They are held in there plenty tight, just positioned incorrectly.

Adam

·
Super Moderator
9,971 Posts
The Recon mirror lights just don't cut it. I saw a set on a buddy's truck and told myself I wouldn't buy any for the price they were asking.

·
Registered
53 Posts