Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a complete novice in the diesel world. Bought an 04 this winter and just made the first long trip towing our 5th wheel. No problems encountered until about 5 miles from home. Got off the Interstate, fueled up and ran into Wally world for a few supplies. On leaving there was a slight uphill grade.

The truck had no power to speak of, stumbled a little (if it was a gasser I would say it was flooded) and was belching the most enormous black cloud of death you can imagine. I've seen freight trains run by with less smoke. After a half mile or so, everything was back to normal both uphill and down. Nothing lit up on the dash. I'm going to the dealer to have error codes checked but with your combined years of experience (shameless brown nosing here) WTF could have happened? :dunno:

Your expert opinions welcomed.

·
Premium Member
11,892 Posts
I'm a complete novice in the diesel world. Bought an 04 this winter and just made the first long trip towing our 5th wheel. No problems encountered until about 5 miles from home. Got off the Interstate, fueled up and ran into Wally world for a few supplies. On leaving there was a slight uphill grade.

The truck had no power to speak of, stumbled a little (if it was a gasser I would say it was flooded) and was belching the most enormous black cloud of death you can imagine. I've seen freight trains run by with less smoke. After a half mile or so, everything was back to normal both uphill and down. Nothing lit up on the dash. I'm going to the dealer to have error codes checked but with your combined years of experience (shameless brown nosing here) WTF could have happened? :dunno:

Your expert opinions welcomed.
Since it was black smoke and not white, it sounds to me like the EGR valve is dirty causing it to stick open.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·