Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the diesel truck world. I traded my 05 Z71 truck for a 01 f-350 dullay. It's 2wd and crew cab. I am wondering what upgrades are good. Like programmers and chips and turbos. I don't know anything so if you will please put good brands with them as well.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Both haha. During the week I pull a 20' trailer everyday so I want to be able to have power and gas saving.

·
Registered
11,152 Posts
Basically this order:
Intake (DIY is popular), free flowing exhaust, gauges to not melt anything, then a custom burnt chip from Tony Wildman, Beans, Swamps, Gearhead, Innovative, PHP, DP, and others.

·
Banned
5,630 Posts
I'm new to the diesel truck world. I traded my 05 Z71 truck for a 01 f-350 dullay. It's 2wd and crew cab. I am wondering what upgrades are good. Like programmers and chips and turbos. I don't know anything so if you will please put good brands with them as well.
What do you want? Goals? Use for the truck?

1. Never a "programmer". Always a chip. beans and tony wildman are the best for these 7.3's.
2. you can do a LOT with the stock turbo... why do you need a turbo.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
What what is the difference in programmers and chips? What do they do? And I don't need a turbo, what all can you do to it. It has a wicked wheel in it.

·
Banned
5,630 Posts
Programmer is bland, just ups fuel, causes high egt's, beats up the tranny, and lower output than chip. also, cant adapt for turbo or fuel.

chip physically takes over the ECU and gives the truck all new "brains".

The WW just stops surge. Actually flows less than stock.

·
Supporting Vendor
280 Posts
Programmer is bland, just ups fuel, causes high egt's, beats up the tranny, and lower output than chip.