Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've got a 97 f250 ECLB 4x4. While I'm pretty mechanically sound and would like to think I know a bit more about cars than the average person, I'm relatively new to diesels (~2 months experience, 1 month of ownership of this current truck). These are my concerns (only engine-side; the rest of my issues I can pinpoint because other vehicles have them too) that I'm having with my engine. It's got 330k, bone stock (it looks like the turbo and downpipe have been replaced), and it makes typical 7.3 5 speed power, and gets 20mpg highway. It'll still get up to ~93mph until I run out of gearing, too. So the engine's not "unhealthy." I've cold started it(plugged in) at 10 below and it took maybe 2 seconds of cranking and it started right up.

-I'll be the first to admit it: I accidentally put regular 50/50 ELC in my overflow tank, and wouldn't be surprised if I mixed it. I'm gonna do a water pump and Tstat soon and a full coolant flush and then run a ~65-35 mixture of fleet charge. This is temporary (less than 3 months)

1. Temp Guage doesn't move
Granted, I bought this thing in the dead winter in Colorado and it's been -20F almost every day here. I keep it plugged in to keep some heat in it. However, I took it on a 4 hour road trip and it did GREAT, but the temp guage hardly EVER went past the "n" on normal. It only went to the middle climbing a mountain pass and went right back down as I let off throttle. I will soon replace water pump and put a 203 thermostat in it. I wonder if it's just cuz it's a really beefy cooling system or just because I haven't driven this truck in any weather higher than 35F.

2. Stiction?