Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, I know this is an old thread, however just wanted to chime in. I am an aircraft mechanic for the Army, I have a 2006 F-250, 6.0, Studded, deleted (EGR/CAT), Iceman Air cleaner, 4" exhaust and tuned with factory injectors and Turbo. Monitoring with the Edge Juice w/attitude running SCT performance tunes. I use my truck as a daily driver and to pull a 32' bumper pull toy-hauler averaging 12-15k#. I recently did the head studs in my garage and before I did it the injectors were super noisy during initial glow plug warmup cycle. My first tank after reassembly I used #2 Diesel, Power Service Diesel fuel supplement, Power Service Diesel Kleen, Lucas Heavy Duty Oil Stabilizer, Rotella T6 Synthetic and Rotella Ultra ELC Coolant with new oil/fuel filters and Oil Cooler. I get JP8 for $2.00 a gallon locally and run it in my truck now. First thing I noticed, after using JP8 in the second tank, is my injectors are super quiet during initial glow plug cycle and I can actually only really hear my fuel pump now and have to listen hard to hear the injectors cycling. The amazing thing is I went from 12 MPG before the project to 14 MPG on first tank. After running JP8 I am currently averaging 20 MPG on my daily 17 mile commute in moderate traffic with several stop/go's in between. My EGT's, EOT and ECT are right on the money with a perfect delta between EOT and ECT. I have not had the toy-hauler behind it yet while running JP8 and don't imagine I will have the luxury of using JP8 while on the road. I was getting 8 MPG fully loaded at 15k. I will update later if anyone cares to know how it turns out.

·
Premium Member
9,474 Posts