Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
We had driven 680 miles home from Colorado and all of a sudden while running down the turnpike at 75 it started making a loud clattering sound, and blowing grey smoke out the exhaust. lost power. Got to the side of the road and had a wrecker bring it on home. There is raw diesel in the tail pipe and coolant all over the passenger side battery (may be unrelated.). Any ideas on where to start looking? It had a rough start idle the morning before but cleared right up and ran fine, figured it was the altitude (we were at 7700 ft). We had just got finished pulling my sons fifthwheel camper 750 miles to Colorado for him. Had a mechanic replace the glow plugs and re-seal the injectors about 3 months ago. Please any ideas of where to start would be most helpful. Hubby wants his truck running again. I am a good gasser mechanic but learning on the diesel.
Thank you and God Bless

·
Registered
571 Posts
Will it start?

Reactions: cccrn123

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
update

I have not tried starting it since we shut it off on the turnpike, I did not want to damage the engine further. I went out yesterday and tinkered with it after the storms passed thru for a minute before it got dark.. The radiator resovoir is empty and there is silver / gray residue in it and the oil is 4 inches over full on the dipstick. So I am thinking possibly head gasket. But then there is that loud clatter which I am thinking would not be consistent with a gasket. It was not the bang / thud sound like a rod. But I know there has to be a water jacket breach somewhere. There is also oil/ diesel all over the turbo.
Thank you for all your help. I am on the diesel learning curve.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5