Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Premium Member
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2000 f250 purchased a few months ago w/182k on it, I’ve put about an additional 10k on the odometer.

First and foremost, I’ve been changing my own parts and doing my own basic maintenance for many years but I’m not a mechanic, and this is my first diesel/Powerstroke.

This truck had some obvious seepage when I purchased it, I was slightly concerned but “heard” that a 7.3 that didn’t leak a bit probably didn’t have any oil in it. This truck at the time would leave a drop or two on the ground.

Hell, I’m rambling.
Y’all know the story already.

Anyway, I’ve got oil in the valley. I’m certain that it’s leaking from the pedestal.

I think that I may be leaking a bit from someplace @ HPOP.

I know that I’m leaking @Oil cooler and this leak seems to be progressing the quickest.

I’ve ordered the parts that I think I need. Dealt with RiffRaff.

My plan is to replace seals in pedestal.
Replace the seals in/on oil cooler.
I was just going to replace the Orings (3) of them on the HPOP (2 hose 1plug). The gentleman @ RiffRaff convinced me that I should get the bigger “kit” and do the whole HPOP job. Made sense, kit wasn’t that much more $, and I was doing a lot of the labor already.

What I’m looking for is, any advice on what I’m planning on doing. (Tips/Tricks, Dos/Donts)

My biggest concern is doing the complete HPOP, I lean heavily on the Youtube and there doesn’t seem to be any single video that addresses the process completely. I’ve kinda pieced a couple together.

Anything I should be aware of, something else I should do while I’m at it?

I’ll take anything y’all have to offer.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
8,186 Posts