Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was goin to change my oil but i thought about goin from rotella 15-40 to delvac 10w-30. Any pointers or comments please.. thanks

·
War is the answer!
5,386 Posts
Why 10w30?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App

·
Registered
133 Posts
oil

I second the choice for Amsoil, either the 5-30 Series 3000 or their 15-40 Marine oil. I have been using their products for over 20 years and have never been let down. Their products always work better than advertised.

Frank
:icon_ford

·
Premium Member
1,431 Posts
You want 40 weight oil in your 6.0 and most diesels. 5w40 helps on cold starts because it is a 5 weight when cold and 40 weight when warm. You have to be in extreme cold before you drop to a 30 weight oil, -30* and colder.

·
Registered
501 Posts

·
Premium Member
650 Posts
T6 rotella 5-40 is the best choice for 6.0 liter.
I have the BPD oil cooler and relocated oil filter. Is the T6 rotella 5-40 still recommended? I also have the Napa Gold oil filter 1832. Thx!,

Sent from my iPad using Autoguide

·
Registered
501 Posts
I have the BPD oil cooler and relocated oil filter. Is the T6 rotella 5-40 still recommended? I also have the Napa Gold oil filter 1832. Thx!,

Sent from my iPad using Autoguide
I cant imagine an oil cooler changing a requirement of viscosity. Rotella T6 is the most cost effective synthetic out there. $21/gallon at Wally World.

·
Registered
381 Posts
I've been using 10w-30 for a few years with excellent UOA results.

For as long as I own a 6.0 its the only viscosity lube I'll use.

·
Registered
4,914 Posts

·
Registered
4,483 Posts
I hate changing the end weight of oil. Tolerances are specific to motors and oil compliments how that motor is built. 5/40 is tested and tried. And ya got to run racor or ford filters - bottom line. There is proof of that all over the place.