Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So a quick intro to me before I get into the issue I am new to the powerstroke site, and new to ford diesels as well. I have had 6.2/6.5 chevs before and have a vw 1.9 TD. I also have a 00 F-350 with a 7.3 DI in it (441,000KM and running strong). But the reason for the post in this area is:

Recently my brother in-law and I picked up a 2004 f-250 extended cab shortbox with 300,000 on it for $2100 as a non running truck. A quick diagnoses lead us to fix the battery terminals for $6 and charge the battery up. The truck also needed a rad as it was taken out and used in another truck. So put a new rad in it. and proceeded to turn the truck over to start it.

Well it fired right up, a bit of smoke (whitish). but ran pretty good, had a bit of a injector knock but that seems to have gone completely out of it now that it has run a little. Not sure how long the truck sat for though, would say at least a year before we got it, It hand sunk in his yard a good 8 inches. He told us he got it for parts before he wrote of his truck.

so after it ran for a few minutes it seemed to be leaking, well looked more like someone put a garden hose on it, coolant from the pass side of the engine. Unplugged what appeared to the block heater on the pass side and coolant leak went away. (well water anyways). or it is out of coolant as we haven't filled it yet. and the temp gauge dosnt climb at all but we dont have it running for very long as too much oil is running down from under it, also from the pass side.