Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I am new to diesels and i just bought a 1997 F-250. It has gauges and a 5 inch pipe that comes out before the rear wheel. Its a 5 speed and It has 190,000 miles. It pours out black smoke when i get on it and picks up pretty good. How can i really tell what modifications this truck has? Will a pipe alone gain alot of power? I want to purchase a programmer but I am not sure what to go with? Any information would be helpful.

·
Premium Member
8,298 Posts
from the sounds of it, you already have a programmer without knowing it. if your truck is POURING out black smoke, it is definately not stock. hard to say what else. possibly injectors if the black smoke is thick and dark. how much boost is your gauge reading when you get on it? i'm sure someone else on here will be able to tell you more. if not, perhaps a local diesel shop can help you out.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
how would i tell if it has a programmer? When i get on it the boost gauge hits 25 to 30 and it sounds like it has a blowoff valve when i let off at high rpms.

·
I have excessive flatulance!!
1,273 Posts
The black smoke tells you that you have a programer on it.. You need to go back to the guy you bought it from and ask him what he all had done to the truck...

·
Registered
882 Posts
yea, i second that, go back and ask the person you bought it from what was done to the truck so that you know.

·
Nuckin' Futz
700 Posts