Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2005 F-250 Lariat, with a stock rear end. I think I have a pinion carrier bearing or pinion bearing going out. I am getting a roaring or "whump" noise at certain speeds on the highway. I am an okay shade tree mechanic, but have never set up a rear end. How big of a job is this.

·
Premium Member
3,273 Posts
Get the rear end up on jack stands -- put the tranny in neutral -- get under and see if there is slack in the pinion bearings -- the see if there is excessive rotational slack
try the center driveshaft bearing for slack also

Usually a pinion bearing will change noise when getting on and off the throttle a little -- the carrier bearing may roar all the time or only when going up or down hill

Check for exhaust rubbing the frame or hanger damage -- exhaust can make some noise like that also

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply. Been needing to check the exhaust hangar for about 1 week anyway. I can hear some clanking around in the rear when I go over a bump.
How big of a job is it if take the rearend down, replace the bearings and races and put it back up with the same shims in place now?

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What is a good range for cost of a rebuild. I love working on the old girl, but I really can't afford the "experience" of having to buy 2 sets of parts for the rear end because i screwed the first one up. I have a press and dial indicator, but I have never set up a rear end before.

Experience is something you need about 10 mins before you get it, or so I have heard and learned.

I need the truck in action and not dead in my driveway.

·
Premium Member
3,273 Posts
Have you checked to see if there is oil in the diff?
get the rear up on jack stands and check the pinion for looseness -- also rotate the pinion back and forth to see how much slack there is