Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off my truck is a 2005 F350 innovative street tune with 247 000 km on it. The last few weeks on first start up it has ran rough, and not wanted to get up to speed for the first 5 min.

This morning went to go start it and it cranks strong, stumbles trying to start, but will not fire up. i looked under the hood and my degas bottle has puked recently and was dry with oily residue in the bottom. i pulled the EGR valve and it was all wet and oily in there.

So i would assume my egr cooler is gone but my question is why would that cause a no start situation?

Any help is appreciated as I'm new to diesels.
Thanks, Sam

PS could someone help me confirm it is my egr cooler thats gone.

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
Well, maybe but a failed EGR cooler shouldn't stop the truck from starting, except if it allowed so much coolant that you're hydrolocked You may have two things going on here. Your oil cooler / EGR coolers may have failed, but your no-start sounds more like you may have a FICM issue. You should check both. You may also have injector issues, but check your FICM first, the process is in the 6.0 tech section if I recall correctly. If the FICM is good, you'll need to do additional tests and diagnostics.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for the quick reply. the engine is not hydrolocked because it will crank over fine. i will have a look for the info about the FICM. A friend told me if i was cranking it over and the oil pressure gauge dident move than it would be the HPOP, is there any truth to that? i also tried to start on ether but dident want to give it to much it ran rough for 10 to 20 seconds but i was afraid to do much more.

thanks for any input

·
Registered
1,186 Posts