Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i have wanted to do this for a long time on other vehicles but i didn't plan on keeping them so i put it off. I plan on keeping this truck till it falls apart so decided it was time to try it. I really wanted a NAV unit and i wanted to run torque all the time. This allows both and more. This is my first time doing a build Thread so i will probably leave some stuff out but i haven't seen any other Nexus installs so figured i would make one.

What i ordered

Nexus 7
Amazon.com: Nexus 7 from Google (7-Inch, 32 GB, Black) by ASUS (2013) Tablet: Computers & Accessories

"Sponsored" Timur's Kernel
https://timur.mobi/timurs-kernel-n7-2013/

Ford Wire harness
Amazon.com: Stereo Wire Harness Ford F-250/350/450/550 08 09 10 11 2008 2009 2010 2011 (car radio wiring installation parts): Everything Else

90 Degree OTG cable
Amazon.com: BobjGear® Highest Quality Right Angle OTG Cable Adapter for all Micro USB OTG ports to full Female USB - Perfect fit for Nexus Tablets and BobjGear Rugged Cases - (Individually quality tested by BobjGear and shipped only from Amazon US wa

USB Host OTG cable + Charging

Amp Kit

5V DC regulater
Amazon.com: DROK® 10A/50W 9-32V 12V/24V to 5V Car DC Voltage Converter Regulator Power Supply,Waterproof: Electronics

I also purchaced a 12V relay, some extra wire and a fuse holder.
I had a USB to headset dac already handy so i did not buy one but probably will upgrade to a better one later.

I am still working on a fix for steering wheel controls and backup cam. i believe i have found a fix for those but as i don't have it working yet i will update later when it is.

First i cut/dremeled out a slot on both sides of the double din face plate

i then ensured the tablet would fit properly and be held securely by the frame.

I then ran the all the wiring. here is a diagram of what i installed. Forgive my skills in paint. its what i had :dunno: