Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys my names Cody. I have been reading on here all week and decided tonjump on in. I bought a 1996 f250 extended cab 4x4 with a 7.3(duh) this week. It has 218000 on the odometer and is CLEAN inside and in good conditon on the outside. It has been sitting in a barn for 4 years and we put new batteries in it and she fired right up. The prev. Owner believes it needs a few injectors but it seems to run well to me minus a few misses it has every once and awhile. I get my license November 21st and would like to have it in top shape by then. I will post some pics and a video here soon. Until then what are some must have mods and things to replace from your own experience?

Thanks!
Cody

·
Registered
160 Posts
I am no expert, still have a lot to learn and there are a ton of people on here that know way more than me... they'll probably be along soon with better advice. Here is my two cents:

- Find somebody around your town/area that has driven diesels and just ask them to listen to your truck run. You will be surprised what an experienced ear can tell you.

- Get a temp gun, get your truck warmed up, then take temp readings of each cylinder. If one is way lower than others, you may have (injector) issues.

- Do a bunch of searching and reading on here about 'fuel leaks' and learn what the typical sources of leaks (fuel bowl, fuel pump, orings sensors, etc) and you will learn pretty quick about where/how to look.

- have you changed oil and filters and stuff yet?

·
Premium Member
23,192 Posts
Check fluids, change the intake to a tymar or a DIY if its.stock, get a 3" down pipe if it doesn't have one already, straight pipe it. How much do you have to spend is the question

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
If the truck has been sitting for 4 years, the first thing I would do is change the oil. Welcome to the site.:icon_ford:

·
Premium Member
23,192 Posts