Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Just bought an '02 F-250 Turbo Diesel and I have no experience with diesel engines at all but have skilled family members to help. What are some good performance mods to get me started?

·
Registered
489 Posts
Well basics are: Intake, Exhaust, Tuner, & Guages. I'm not an expert but I can tell you that is what i have minus the guages and exhaust---which im about to get. apparently cusom tunes are the way to go. TW or DP or [email protected] are all very good from what i hear. For exhaust, just anything that is at least 4 in. turbo back will do the trick. Personally i like the K&N intake setup i have but there are other good ones out there. Most people on here will tell you to do the Tymar intake (which i also like). there are many good guages out there as well. Isspros are an example. i also have an 02 and currently running intake with banks chip. But am about to sell the chip and get custom tunes from gearhead automotive performance. Also about to purchase the banks monster exhaust which is kind of pricy but it is a stainless steel system. as well as isspro guages w/the pillar setup....pyro,boost, trans temp. hope this helps

·
Registered
133 Posts
Make sure it is Tune + Gauges, sometimes a tune can get you into trouble quick if you cant see what is going on.

And the Intake/Exhuast can be done either one first.

I did the exhaust/tune/gauges/transcooler(6.0 Replacement)/Intake/Turbo Compressor

·
Registered
2,096 Posts
Make sure it is Tune + Gauges, sometimes a tune can get you into trouble quick if you cant see what is going on.

And the Intake/Exhuast can be done either one first.

I did the exhaust/tune/gauges/transcooler(6.0 Replacement)/Intake/Turbo Compressor

Not to hijack, But 574hp from a 1.3L engine?? wow :nod:

·
Super Moderator
19,444 Posts
I did the basics like trucktractorman said.