Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2006 Ford F350 Lariat with the 6.0l diesel engine.

I purchased a new instrument cluster a few months ago from the local Ford dealer to replace the one in the truck that the previous owner had spilled coffee in. They took down my hours and the mileage from the truck when they ordered it.

I installed it, and the mileage was correct, but the hours read zero.

I scheduled an appointment with the dealer and paid them $123.05 to hook their system up to the truck and set the hours to the correct amount.

After they got done with the truck, the hours read zero again (I had put a dozen or so on it), not the correct amount. They are now telling me that the hours cannot be set, and that I am, in their words, "out of luck."

This doesn't seem right to me. If they can reset the hours to zero, they should be able to set them to a non-zero number.

Does anyone know of a way to set the hours in the instrument cluster, or a competent dealer that can do this for me? (I have an autoengenuity scan tool for the truck if this has the capability).
 

· Administrator
Joined
·
35,235 Posts
I have heard that Ford dealers can't reset the mileage so hours ? it has to be done by the Cluster repair
company ( this was true for My GM ) so I wonder if it was ordered incorrectly

if it were Me I would call another dealer and a gauge repair company and ask them

I would hate to have non box A title then again they only ask about mileage so ??
 

· Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
Let me see if I can help, and maybe I can get some help too!
I just bought a (new from the dealer) 2005 Harley-Davidson cluster to swap into my 2005 Lariat. They asked for my mileage and hours before ordering it in. When it got to me it did the same thing as the OP, the mileage was right but the hours were 0.
After calling them and discussing the problem they said I would have to bring the cluster in to be shipped back for the forgotten hours. That was done and now all is well, except:
I too have the ---*f.

I originally was under the impression that the H-D had a temp display option that the Lariat did not. After much research I could not find this to be so. At least I now know the dealer can take the ---*F off, but my real wonder is there any way to hook up this temp function?
 

· Supporting Vendor
Joined
·
183 Posts
We can set the hours for you. We would just need a copy of the work order from the dealer showing what they were supposed to be set to. I hate that you ordered a replacement from the dealer! We could have saved you a lot of trouble and money by offering an upgraded replacement.
Just call us at 800-547-2049, and we will be honored to serve you!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jason99

· Registered
Joined
·
404 Posts
We can set the hours for you. We would just need a copy of the work order from the dealer showing what they were supposed to be set to. I hate that you ordered a replacement from the dealer! We could have saved you a lot of trouble and money by offering an upgraded replacement.
Just call us at 800-547-2049, and we will be honored to serve you!

Please PM me a price for a 2005 (diesel) H-D cluster. I have a 2005 (diesel) Lariat or a 2005 XLT cluster for a core.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top