Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me begin with appologizing for the long post. I am new to this sight and am extremly excited about it's exhistance. Regardless, here it is. I drive a 2001 Ford-350 (4x4)7.3 turbo. The truck is equipped with a 4:11 rear end. Everything else is stock. I purchased the truck with 75,000 miles on it and it appears since then the truck is loosing it's pep. For the most part, the truck is parked.

About 5 times a month it us used to pull our toy hauler, which weighs about 9000 lbs. What I have noticed is it doesn't appear to have the power it should have. It seems as if the truck boggs down to much on even the smallest hills. For example, its not uncommen for me to have to slow down to 60 mph on a slight grade to avoid the transmission shifting down and runing the rpms up too 2200 (on the interstate). I have also noticed the fuel economy us extremly bad. I realize this is a heavy truck and not designed to get great fuel economy, but 10 -12 mpg (empty) is not good enough.

Can anyone point out some obvious inspections or changes I should be doing. I am also planning on adding a tuner, exhaust, and intake. Does anyone believe this is worth it or have an ideal suggestion for this truck.

Thanks in advance for the help. I'm new at this but dealing with diesel motors has become a new intrest of mine.

·
Premium Member
9,603 Posts
have you checked the basics like air filter / fuel filter etc...?

And :ORG welcome:

·
Registered
601 Posts
i would check your fuel filter. if it sits alot it could be clogged from old fuel.

·
John Wood Nut Swinger
3,413 Posts