Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow Powerstrokers. I'm brand new to diesels and Ford. I've had my 06 F350 for about 2 months and already having problems. The truck has 120XXX miles and was just checked out by the dealership when I bought it and they said all was good... A few days ago I noticed the engine temp gauge getting hot so I shut her down and looked under the hood to find a weird smell and no coolant. I filled it back up to drive home and noticed white smoke on the start up and at idle but not at highway speed. I'm now scared to drive it. Been reading the forum for a while now though I just joined and would like yalls opinions please. Thanks in advance.

Also no mods that I know of. Just ask if you need more info to possibly help.

·
Registered
4,914 Posts
Pull your egr valve, see if it's wet in the intake. You need a monitor. Sounds like a busted egr cooler, and/or blown head gaskets. Dont drive it like that.

Sent from my phone that somebody didn't help me get.

·
Premium Member
193 Posts
I suggest you buy an Edge Insight CTS monitor, they cost $399.00 but it will give you a multitude of readings from all your sensors. It sounds like head gaskets to me. You might take it back to the stealership and talk to them.

·
Registered
4,566 Posts
Don't bother with the gauges until you get it fixed. Reason being, the gauges can't tell you chit if you don't drive it and I would *HIGHLY* recommend you don't drive it.

Like Southend said, pull the EGR and see if its wet inside. From what you have said it sounds like you at least have a blown EGR cooler which means you also have a clogged oil cooler and possibly blown head gaskets.

·
Registered
4,914 Posts
I suggest you buy an Edge Insight CTS monitor, they cost $399.00 but it will give you a multitude of readings from all your sensors. It sounds like head gaskets to me. You might take it back to the stealership and talk to them.