Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to diesel trucks so bear with me as I'm still learning...
Before posting, I read a lot of information on this and other forums to get educated on diesel trucks and issues but I have a long way to go before I truly understand what's going on.

Details: 1996 F350 7.3L, dually, stock (no mods), 173,000 miles.

Problem: Truck hard to start, runs rough when it does start and shuts off in a couple of minutes, then it won't start again till it's cold again. Fuel pressure while cranking is very low at 10 psi so suspect the pump or FPR.

This is what has been done so far:
New starter, new Ford HPOP, rebuilt IPR, new ICP (generic brand), new CPS (Motorcraft), dropped both tanks and replaced broken tank pickup tubes and cleaned tanks (re-used the diesel fuel), cleaned FPR screen, openend up IDM and no visible signs of damage like burn marks, buzz test shows injector 5 weak at first but passes all injectors the second time around, did the BB mod to FPR.

Removed the passenger valve cover and inspected connectors. They looked ok, no obvious burn marks or burned insulation but the pins did appear to have some oil (not sure if this is normal). When the truck did manage to start, I noticed that only two injectors had oil coming from the oil spouts.

I did record live data using Forscan but have no idea what I'm looking at, perhaps someone here can help me interpret it - it would not let me upload the fsl files so I just uploaded a couple of screenshots.

The thing I can tell is that the CPS is working since the engine shows nearly 200 rpm when cranking. The IPR also seems to be working but I'm not sure what the waveform should look like. Also, the IPW does not look right. I'm not sure what normal ICP, IPR and IPW signals are supposed to look like on buildup, idle and WOT.

Do these waveforms look normal or is there a red flag that goes up when you look at the data?