Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a deal on a wrecked and abandoned F250 6.0 FX4 and I could not pass it up, especially after I drove it! I have been reading up on the "issues" with the 6.0 and just wanted to get some advice on what I should look for while I am driving it. I want to do some of the "bullet proofing" that I am reading about on the site but I will have to drive it for while before I start that. It has 123K on it and from what I can tell runs pretty dang good. I don't think it has had a tuner on it. I don't plan on doing any heavy towing with it for a year or 2. I want to get a camper later down the road though. Not really interested in hopping it up.
Anyway I would appreciate any advice on what to look for while I am learning about the truck. Keep in mind I am still a newb. My only diesel experience is with a 2000 f350 7.3 that had 350k on it that I have been driving for 5 months now... I did trouble shoot the f350 hard start issue to make it drivable, so I am a little familiar with the 7.3.

Thanks Richard

·
Premium Member
9,154 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have read them both a few times and if I am reading them right the reason to get something to monitor thease engines with is the engine oil temp, exhaust temp and fuel preassure? Since I dont plan on doing alot of towing can I get by with the edge insite CS? and just keep an eye on the oil temp to engine temp? Is oil temp a PID? or does it need one of the expansion kits?

·
Registered
255 Posts
Oil temp is a PID

Sent from my DROIDX using AutoGuide App

·
Premium Member
11,966 Posts
You really want to be able to keep an eye on all of those. Fuel pressure is critical to injector life and replacing injectors is very expensive.

·
Registered
609 Posts
And you are correct, the differnce in the oil temp and the water temp is what you need to really monitor. How many miles are on the truck? Congrats!

·