Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need help. My 2006 F250 6.0L has started to get less MPG lately. I checked the air filter it appeared good. I changed both my fuel filters. After that the MPG dropped even more. It dropped by 3. Can anyone help?

·
The Silent Service
5,390 Posts
Do you have a monitor / gauges in the truck?
Any smoke or loss of power?
What boost levels are you seeing?

After filters are checked, a 3 mpg difference could be a number of mechanical/electrical issues. We'll need some more information.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
no monitors, no smoke or power loss, and not really sure what you mean by boost levels. Im pretty new to having a diesel so im not really sure what im doing.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
No change in starts, no smoke at all unless i really get on it and its barely any and it black. Power and turbo seem to be the same.

·
Registered
390 Posts
Has it been to the dealership recently?

·
Registered
8 Posts
I have the same problem, my truck smokes a tiny tiny bit when i start it up and its greyish, then when its warm and driving around it doesn't smoke at all

·
Registered
325 Posts
When the truck is cool have a buddy fire it up. Be under the truck and take your hand and run it around the up pipe. Dont put your hand on it, just around it. See if you feel any air hitting your hand. If you do you have a crack in the up pipe. Some whistle and some just lose a decent amount of MPGS

If you dont want to use your hand get a stethescope from vatozone for 10 bucks and you will hear it if it does.

·
Registered
4,341 Posts
For an exhaust leak...

An extendable mirror also helps to see the hard places for the black smoke build up.

If you are going to stick your hand back there, do it fast.