Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
EngOk i installed the diy filter set up with AFE filter and a diamond eye 4" turbo back exhaust with muffler. My mpg seems to have gotten better with no load, but when towing they seen to have gone down? Does anyone have any advice is this normal? It didn't go down much but did decline. The load is only like 5000 # am i doing something wrong?

·
Banned
5,630 Posts
doesn't add up. maybe you are more rough w/ the throttle pedal now w/ the new exhaust and intake.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I figured i would get a 2 mpg better and i did with no load. Not sure what the deal is. When it changes gears i really hear the turbo sound like it spools down, i am new to diesels. I can Getty around 20 mpg unloaded and like 9.5 mpg with my boat aground 5000 # load? I was hoping for like 13 or 14 mpg towing.

·
Banned
5,630 Posts
I figured i would get a 2 mpg better and i did with no load. Not sure what the deal is. When it changes gears i really hear the turbo sound like it spools down, i am new to diesels. I can Getty around 20 mpg unloaded and like 9.5 mpg with my boat aground 5000 # load? I was hoping for like 13 or 14 mpg towing.
9.5mpg while towing 5,000lbs? My LIFTED obs w/ 35's gets 14-15mpg towing a 5,000lb load... 18-22mpg unloaded.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I am only running 285s

·
Banned
5,630 Posts
Right. Something is up. You should be getting better mileage.

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
I just did the Bb mod under the fpr and my mpgs went up from 13.8 around town to 15.8 that's on the trucks overhead display

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Don't go by the overhead display, it's not accurate.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
What is the bp mod? And does anyone have a clue to why my mileage is low towing?

·
Registered
1,745 Posts
Don't go by the overhead display, it's not accurate.