Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi y’all! I just bought a 96 F350 XLT 7.3L
im curious as to what maintenance I need to keep up with on the 7.3.....? Other than basic oil change, fuel and air filter things like that. I’m new to the motor.

·
Registered
8,585 Posts
Not sure what the other guy is getting at. Everything else underneath will eat you alive????

Many folks ignore brake fluid, engine coolant, power steering fluid, transmission, transfer case and both differentials etc.

mist a good idea to check the engine bay out and look at the water pump, coolant hoses, ICP and IPR sensor. They can make trouble for you when they start to fail or flat out fail.

It’s best to spend some time on the forum and YouTube and learn more about the common issues/fixes and guides for routine stuff. Will save a ton of time/money for a few extra mint of research

Reactions: Ish

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Not sure what the other guy is getting at. Everything else underneath will eat you alive????

Many folks ignore brake fluid, engine coolant, power steering fluid, transmission, transfer case and both differentials etc.

mist a good idea to check the engine bay out and look at the water pump, coolant hoses, ICP and IPR sensor. They can make trouble for you when they start to fail or flat out fail.

It’s best to spend some time on the forum and YouTube and learn more about the common issues/fixes and guides for routine stuff. Will save a ton of time/money for a few extra mint of research
Thank you for the input!

·
Registered
1,775 Posts
Not much really engine wise, but everything underneath will eventually eat you alive.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Huh? My 97 has been the most reliable and lowest cost vehicle I have ever owned.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Huh? My 97 has been the most reliable and lowest cost vehicle I have ever owned.
Let's see, these add up...

Ball joints
Wheel bearings