Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good morning everybody,
Im in the process of putting my ‘08 shuttle bus’ engine back together. This is my first time and I’m learning a lot. I had to cut off the LPOP wear ring to remove the assembly. Am I able to buy just another ring or would you recommended replacing the entire setup? Also, is the ring 100% necessary? Thanks in advance

· Registered
2,290 Posts
I don't have personal experience with LPOP replacement, but I've learned that anytime you need to ask "should I just replace the whole setup" and it isn't that expensive, replace it all.

· Premium Member
5,141 Posts
I don't have personal experience with LPOP replacement, but I've learned that anytime you need to ask "should I just replace the whole setup" and it isn't that expensive, replace it all.
Agreed. I always ask myself, "Do I mind doing this all over again if this doesn't work?" If the answer is Yes, ehhhh...roll with it. If it's No, then take the time to save some time!

-jokester

Reactions: mlgjellybean123

· Premium Member
4,774 Posts
You guys will love my front cover video whenever I finish it.

OP, are you talking about the outer ring of the pump? Because they are a matched pair once they have any use on them.

· Registered
186 Posts
you didnt notch the crank when you were cutting did you op? im guessing you used an abrasive cutting wheel? huge problem if you did... crank is junk if so.. both the crank surface and the ring are essential for the front of the engine to not pee oil lol

next time you need to remove any wear ring on anything use the right tool or just gently ding it all around with a ball peen hammer and it will deform and come off just takes patience and gentleness.

you cant get just a ring you need to get a new front main seal and it comes matched with a new ring. you want fel-pro TCS 46197 or motorcraft 3C3Z-6700-BA