Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!
Am considering the possibility of swapping an older PSD into a '07 F-350 and replacing the 6.0L. Has anyone come across this type of swap or perhaps knows someone directly who has done it. Suspect it might not be that bad after you get by electronics issue. My most likely candidate to drop in would be the 7.3; '02-03 version. Also, replacement engine will front the '07 Ford automatic. Any input would be appreciated. My Ford mechanic thinks I'm nuts but that's OK, he should hear what I think of him and his narrow view of the world. :icon_ford:

·
COLLEGE KID
3,226 Posts
haha u might be the first! its gonna be a learning experience for sure. that would be a badazz swap i think. not a clue where to start man Im a Newb.

·
Registered
1,175 Posts
i dont know about dropping ina 7.3 but there are several websites you could look into that would drop a CUMMINS into that truck!!!

·
Registered
277 Posts
why would you take out the 6.0 for a 7.3 thats just crazy,and stupis all in the same breath,the 6.0 is far superior than the 7.3,maybe a cummins if anything but i still say stick with 6.0 youll love it.

·
Registered
403 Posts
because 6.0's effing suck!! I want to do the same thing and have both trucks but all I get is negativity from those who are afraid to do something creative. Man, if you don't have any useful information just keep your ignorant opinions to yourself and eat my black BLACK BLACK smoke as I blow by you sitting broken down on the side of the [email protected] road with your poorly designed engine.

chris

·
Registered
4,781 Posts

·
Registered
1,815 Posts
ya the 7.3 is one of the best light duty diesel engines ever made!!! tying with the 5.9 and just behind the cat c-7

·
Premium Member
1,710 Posts