Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
On Sunday, I became a proud Ford truck owner again after going with Dodge for a few years (forgive me :doh:) but this is the first time I have owned a Diesel that didn't have a backhoe on it... I'm wanting to have the best possible MPG plus some added power. All this Tuner, chip, and Programmer talk is confusing as hell to me so if someone would be kind enough to explain all of that to me, it would be much appreciated. I would also like some recommendations on those chips & programmer's, etc., as well as exhaust and intake. I was thinking 5" Magnaflow for my exhaust? I'm not a fan of the stacks so I'm just looking for single outlet. I'm new to the Diesel world, especially Powerstroke world, so I need to know what the best stuff out there is so my rig can be mean!:icon_ford: I would appreciate all input! Thanks and GOD Bless!

·
Registered
1,815 Posts
for your truck most will agree
intake-aem, s&b
exhaust-there all the same go for best price
chip-sct livewire is absolute best for the 6.0

btw you dont need a 5'' exhaust, get a 4'' turbo back. you only need the 5'' exhaust if your truck has upwards of 500hp+

·
Registered
111 Posts
I'll try and answer to the best of my abilities...
You really only need a 4 incher unless you are making big power, but I don't think it will hurt.
Every body on this site seem to swear by the SCT for the 6.0 with some custom tunes.
And I'm sure someone will tell you this, so I will just say it. The stock filter is really good and flows alot better than most stock filters, so it SHOULD be sufficient.
Have fun with your new truck!

·
Registered
111 Posts
for your truck most will agree
intake-aem, s&b
exhaust-there all the same go for best price
chip-sct livewire is absolute best for the 6.0

btw you dont need a 5'' exhaust, get a 4'' turbo back. you only need the 5'' exhaust if your truck has upwards of 500hp+