Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been monitoring my engine for 4 months now. I felt pretty good about the condition until recently.

Deltas are usually 8-11 at 65 mph depending on OAT. I am planning to do an egr delete, IPR remote cooler, IPR high flow filter, and then whatever else needs replacing when I get in there. I am not planning to do the studs unless the HGs are blown.......

I pulled the egr valve about 2k miles ago, things were mostly dry, but there was a SMALL amount of greasy residue on the bottom of the intake and the bottom of the valve. It was not as bad as some I have seen here, but there apparantly is some moisture of some kind in the intake. I put the valve back in and ran another 2k miles, and checked again......valve was pretty clean and dry, but the manifold looked a little greasy on the bottom, like the previous inspection.

I do not seem to be losing any coolant over the last 4k miles that I have owned it, there aren't any signs of puking.......is there ANY chance that this is something other than a ruptured egr cooler?

Without any coolant loss, I am thinking that if there is an egr cooler leak, it must not be a very big leak YET. Is it possible that the cooler might have a leak that has only acted up when the engine is under high load (previous owner had a heavy gooseneck trailer).....this might explain why I haven't seen any coolant loss in 4k miles that I have driven it.....just wondering out loud...

When I am ready to do the teardown, I do not want to do the HGs and studs unless necessary........should I park the truck until I do the delete?

Thank you :thumb:

·
Registered
4,914 Posts
Mine is the same exact way.......slightly wet, only on the flat bottom surfaces. No coolant loss, but I have a 24° delta. Just wait a few, someone will tell us we have blown egr coolers. Hehe.

Sent from my phone that somebody didn't help me get.

·
Registered
40 Posts