Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 75 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2004 f250, lifted 6 inches with 38" tires. I am getting 8mpg. Thinking about getting a chip, tuner, something to get better mileage without lowering it or anything. It came with a edge performance chip. Should i go with a bully go, banks or Sct system? Any information will be helpful as i am new with diesels. Thank you

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
i'm lifted 8" on 38x15.50 with MTW stg1 turbo, intake, mbrp 5" straight pipe turbo back, egr delete, and sct custom tuned "looney fuel" by Vivian. and i get 21-23mpg on the interstate!

·
Registered
570 Posts
Was that 8 mpg hhand figured and odometer corrected? Gears may help, 4.56 for 38", 4.88s if you tow. What is the looney fuel? My 04 on 35"s can get low 20s only in perfect conditions on a hypertech, or stock tune with 3 degrees extra timing advance, my PHP tunes get 17-19 on flat ground @70.

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
yeah if your on stock gears change them out and do a custom tuned SCT. you can also use it to update your trucks computers for tire size and speed calibration. the updated tire size will help your trucks shift points

·
WWW.COMPIGNTECH.COM
8,777 Posts
I have been battling this dilemma for 2 years and have given up lol. I still only get like 15-16 combined hand calculated, 6" lift 35" nittos and 20" rims. Lol it's not getting better for me I give up lol.

·
Registered
570 Posts
15-16 combined is not bad on 35"s, I have tried almost everything on the 6.0s that I own, owned, almost nothing made any measurable difference, except electronic tuning. Stock 235/85/16 pizza cutters and a hypertech did get some amazing mpgs between 60-65mph, but who has that king of patience, I want real world improvement. Dieselkleene helps on dinofuel, not as much on the unknown 5-20% bio blends around here.

·
Registered
1,203 Posts