Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new at this and have spent hours searching this (and many others)forum. I have a great appreciation for the flexibility that many of you favor with the customizable chips, and I understand that many of you favor these because you are WAY deep in supporting mods on your truck. I, on the other hand, just picked up a standard cab 4x4 work horse and simply want to add a little bit of spice under the hood without starting a chain reaction of problems that often follow...
I am aware that Edge, Superchips, etc are not often the favorites amongst serious diesel folks, but I have to ask if I'd be nuts to spend more money chasing after one of the more popular setups if all I want is a little bit more power and mileage? One of my biggest concerns is the transmission; this truck is about to turn over 250k and I have no idea if or when the tranny was ever rebuilt...so I definitely want to salvage every bit of life that I can out of it just as it is. :dunno:

·
Registered
15 Posts
I too have the same question, I picked up an exhaust for mine to get a little more power! I am next going to do the 6637 intake and get some sort of tuner, im leaning towards the php tuner but am still open to others! I was set on the edge evolution but after reading about tranny problems ive had to reconsider what I want, I will just keep reading and learning more about my truck and tuners before I decide! I only plan on hauling around my 250# sand drag quad!

·
Banned
1,919 Posts
the price for a chip and gauges aint really that much more and yes the tunes are that much better, and they're switch on the fly. i just can't see why people are so hard headed

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4