Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody, this is my first post. I have been looking at excursions for a few years now and I'm finally ready to pull the trigger on one when I find the right one. I have a question for you guys if you would be so kind to help me out. I found a 2005 excursion 4x4 limited with the 6.0l of course and the body and interior is in great condition. No body rust and even the undercarriage is mostly rust free. It does however have 233,500 miles on it. It's at a dealer so I can't find out what kind of work has been done on it in the past. The dealer says it was owned by an elderly man who did not hot rod it, did not have a tuner on it and took care of it but obviously they are going to say whatever it takes to sell it. I test drove it and it does drive great, runs good and steady and has lots of power but I have no diesel experience to compare it to other than driving a big rig. It also has some oil on the drivers side of the block but not enough to drip. They are asking $11,000. Do you guys think this is a good deal or should I back away slowly? Thanks in advance for any advice, I have already learned a ton about the problems with the 6.0l just by reading this forum for the last couple of days. Thanks!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Anybody have any thoughts of whether it's a good deal or not. I have no experience with the 6.0l and don't want to buy something I'm going to regret. Any thoughts about it will be much appreciated.

·
Administrator
21,471 Posts
Im going to be honest here, you are asking our opinion on a rig that we cannot see/hear with details from a guy who "have no diesel experience".

Its a tough position to be in.

That said, we have several threads about what to look for in a 6.0 and how to monitor it.

General discussion stickies (LINK)

Monitoring a 6.0

Ford acronyms

And several threads about buying them: