Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading about the high idle mod and am very interested. This is the first diesel I have owned but I drive firetrucks for a living and know the benefits of using high idle for them. I was at ford yesterday and the service tech told me two interesting things. First is dont allow these trucks to idle for long periods of time he said they dont like it? Odd to me based on previous experience. plus I have two small children that i dont want to get overheated in Texas if I stop and get fuel or talk to someone. Also he said the high idle was a waste of time and would not help truck at all. Also odd to me based on past experience. I have an 04 f250 lariat 4x4. All stock with no chip.

Any good information would be appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
590 Posts
Well he's right about the extensive idling...but he didn't give you all the information. If you are going to idle the truck for longer than 30 minutes at a time then your truck, even with the high idle mod, will eventually be clogged up with carbon from the turbo.

But the high idle mod was created for because of people who idle their trucks for longer than normal periods of time and worry about carbon buildup. It is a good idea to have it, in your case, for filling up and keeping the kids cooled off; or in any situation where you will be idling for longer than 5-10 minutes, but less than 30-40 minutes. I'm sure someone else with more knowledge will chime in, but I hope this was helpful none the less. Have a good one!

Sergio

·
Premium Member
9,603 Posts