Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey guys, my name is bill, i just bought but have not yet picked up a 2002 Hunter green F350 crew cab 7.3L powerstroke turbo diesel 4x4 srw.

i don't have internet hooked up yet at my new place, so i won't be on too much until i hook up my cable. i have some questions i'd appreciate some advice on when i go to pick up my truck to make sure everything is good.
i wasn't able to start a thread in the general discussion for some reason so i'm gonna try to post it here so i can start getting as much info as possible before i pick up my truck on tuesday.

now i'm new to the diesel pickups so i'm not very knowledgeable...i am familiar with alot of big rig diesel stuff though because i'm a truck driver. i've got mechanical ability...i'll show you pictures of the jeep i'm building that this truck will be towing around the tri-state area....or further if i can afford the fuel ;)

ok, so anyway. the truck appears to be in very good condition...perfect inside and out...minimal surface rust on the undercarriage...it does however have 145,000 miles and although the transmission feels good, i'm not sure what the lifespan of these automatics are...or even what they are...i'm guessing an allison? are these transmissions any more money to rebuild then any other tranny?

also...there are 3 gauge pods on the A pillar (left of the windshield, above the dash)...they measure boost, exhaust temperature, and i think tranny temp...this makes me assume that there have been mods to the ecm and/or the turbo itself. there is no dash display engine tuning module or anything...and i would think that most chips on a diesel would use one to fine tune the engine...i haven't looked at the chip itself for a bully dog, jet, or hypertec logo as i was pressed for time last time i was there. so what else should i look for when i go back?