Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a 2000 250 7.3 ltr. Lately this truck has been acting odd. It puffs white smoke on startup (white smoke) and sometimes it idles rough. The smoke goes away after a minute or so. I tried driving it and the vehicle would just shake the hell, like it was not running on all cylinders? I was going down the highway at around 50 and everytime i would accelerate it would just shake.
About 3 miles later it just went back to normal? I am at a complete loss i took it into a shop yesterday and he said everything looks good accept for a sensor he replaces on the valve cover i believe? he said it had something to do with the control of the injectors? I am new to diesels and am really starting to freak out htinking it is gonna cost me an arm and a leg. I hope this information helps out, I am just looking for suggestions from all of you who have axperience with these engines?

·
duct tape & zip ties
10,761 Posts
He most likely replaced the IDM ( Injector Drive Module). But by the way it sounds you may have injector o-rings that are bad causing the problem. Maybe a bad injector that needs to be replaced. Could be the UVC ( under valve cover ) wiring harness has a short in it. Which can cause the problem. I suggest you have a cylinder contribution test done. As well as an injector buzz test done. Also have the vehicle scanned for codes.

·
duct tape & zip ties
10,761 Posts
What was he using to check for codes. Some code scanners will not read DTC's for a diesel. But being at a shop I hope he would have the equipment to properly diagnose the problem.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5