Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
LawDog - Premium Member
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today I parked my F-250 xlt crew cab 4x4 for about an hour. Before leaving I noticed a small spot on the ground. After moving the truck I inspected the spot an determined it was oil. I got under the truck and drip was found on the right side corner of the transmission were it bolts to the motor. It looked like the oil was running down to this point from a higher place. I brought my truck home and placed a piece of white cardboard under the area and it took it about two mins. to drip. The truck has 20,000 miles on it now. At first I thought the oil was coming from the oil pan but the oil looks like it running down from a higher area. I'm not a mechanic but just asking for information of possibilities before I take it to the dealer on Monday.
Any helpful information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
121 Posts
Did you look on top of the engine? Maybe the turbo drain tube or something on the oil cooler would be my quess.

·
LawDog - Premium Member
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oil leak

I dropped the truck off this morning (Saturday). They stated they would get on it Monday. I looked around the top of the engine around the turbo and the oil cooler but I could not find anything that appeared to be leaking oil. Hope to hear more possible suggestions from you guys. The information will be helpful when talking with the service manger and the mechanic on Monday.

·
LawDog - Premium Member
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey guys I got truck back today and no leaks at this time (knock on wood) The mechanic noted the following.