Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello.

Any updates on the black diamond head gaskets.

I have a 04 f350 with 304,000 miles. Never studded or gasket change. One of my head gaskets is leaking oil. Are these still the best gaskets to use along with the arp studs.

·
WWW.COMPIGNTECH.COM
8,774 Posts
Hello.

Any updates on the black diamond head gaskets.

I have a 04 f350 with 304,000 miles. Never studded or gasket change. One of my head gaskets is leaking oil. Are these still the best gaskets to use along with the arp studs.
Your head gasket is leaking oil? What gives you that inclination?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I took it in for a oil change. The Tech told me there is oil at the bottom of the right head and said it looks to be the head gasket. IDK i'm not a mechanic. I'm trying to research this before spending money on something I may not need. I did read it could be the icp

·
Super Moderator
12,764 Posts
New thread started to keep the BD gasket one clean.

Your head gasket is likely not the cause of the leak, as it's main sealing job is to seal combustion gases and coolant. Oil is not totally out of the question, but much rarer. Did the tech say it was from the front of the head or the rear? Couple different places it could be from depending on if it was on the front corner/middle/rear corner.

Main offenders are usually the glow plug harnesses, valve cover gaskets, rocker box gaskets (what the tech may have mislabeled as the "head")

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5