Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First of all, Hi. My name is David. I live in the Grand forks Area, ND (temporarily) until my wife finishes graduate school. I'm from Tulsa, OK. I do hazardous materials cleanup, industrial chemical cleaning and I'm also a Paramedic/Volunteer Firefighter. I also am enjoying my new PSD :)

I intend on doing some things to my truck in order to get th best MPG and make it last a LONG time without sacrificing performance. But I don't know what would be the best for the truck. Like I said I'm new to the powerstroke, and diesels in general. I am not really looking to add more power or torque as I use the truck as a work vehicle. Don't get me wrong, I am not against it. If I add some power along the way to making it more fuel efficient, and add longevity, then I am all for it. Here is what I want to do to it. (Keep in mind I have already done the intake.)

Exhaust,
A tuning kit, ecm mod, chip, or whatever you call it.
An EGR delete Kit (currently looking at the liberator but open to other ideas)
ARP Studs
An intake elbow (recommend a brand?)
Some guages (EGT, oil temp, oil Pressure, fuel pressure, boost and whatever else is recommended for my application)

Here are things I am THINKING of doing but not for sure.
A stock 07 PSD turbo (heard they are more reliable???)
Injectors that are know to last a LONG time, not for more power (can anyone recommend any?)

Other things I want to do. NOT performance wise, but might affect something else I may want to address. (I'm open to opinions on all these items)

Warn Winch
Ranch hand Bumper Front and rear
Some sort of leveling kit. (Don't know which one yet. Depends on how much the new bumper and my winch ways down the nose.)
A High Idle mod? (Its a manual, I'm convinced it can be done, but not sure how. Any ideas?)